Posted in Cool Stuff, Writing

Born Too Late: A History Meme

My initial reluctance about memes has disappeared…now that I made one up myself. (Here’s a guy that defends the meme as an effective social networking tool.)

Here’s the meme: If you could go back to any time in history (for a visit, or you can stay if you really want to), what time would you go back to?

Make a list of four. Name the place, year(s), and event and/or person you’d like to see first hand. In the fifth item (optional) you can put your four honorable mentions. Then tag four people, and send them an e-mail to let them know you’ve tagged them. That’s it!

Here’s my list:

1. New York, New York – 26 September 1957 – Winter Garden Theatre
The opening night of West Side Story. That music (love you, Lennie ). Those voices. That dancing. One of the most electric nights in Broadway history.

2. Pasadena, California – some time in the 1920’s
It would be fun to see the old girl back in the day. BTW, I learned some cool stuff reading Wikipedia’s Pasadena entry.

3. Akron, Ohio – 1854 – Ohio Women’s Rights Convention
To meet Sojourner Truth and witness the “Ain’t I a Woman?” speech.

4. Brooklyn, New York – 15 April 1947 – Ebbets Field
Jackie Robinson’s debut with the Brooklyn Dodgers. MLB is going to honor him every year.

“There was never a man in the game who could put mind and muscle together quicker and with better judgment than Robinson.” – Branch Rickey

5. Honorable mentions

a. The Classic Period of Mayan Culture – c 250-900

b. London, England – 1602 ish
So I can meet Shakespeare and have a drink or two. Oh, and see a play.

c. Hollywood, California – 1918 ish
To meet Charlie Chaplin and ask him questions about his childhood.

d. Dublin, Ireland – 13 April 1742
To attend he premiere of Handel’s Messiah

I’m going to tag more than four people. I’m tagging Susan (who got me blogging in the first place), Bill (who tagged me), Lara (who also tagged me), Jill, Aaron, and Miss Havisham (firmly ensconced in the past already?). Oh, and KP, who doesn’t have a blog (but you can post your responses in the comments section if you like).

Happy time travel!

UPDATE: I meant to tag Rhea.  I had a feeling she’d like this one.  So Rhea, you’re tagged, and you don’t have to tag anyone else if you don’t wanna.  To the rest of ya’ll, go read about Rhea’s colonoscopy adventures.  And vote for your favorite celebrity baby boomer.

Author:

This is a personal blog. Expect a potpourri of stuff.

9 thoughts on “Born Too Late: A History Meme

  1. Very cool. I often do imagine myself in a different time. I like your West Side Story trip.
    I am obsessed with Colonial America, so I know I would have to go back to the 17th century. Maybe Salem. I could try to talk the town fathers out of drowning the witches, pointing out the misogyny in their actions. On the other hand, I would probably be drowned too.

  2. That’s the fun thing about this meme…you get to go back in history and get killed many times over. I’d like to see the look on the town fathers’ faces when you DIDN’T drown.

Leave a comment